International multidisciplinary courses

One of the fundamental issues in biology is the understanding of the relationship between the multiple spatial and temporal scales observed in a biological system. From molecules to a cellular function, from a collection of cells to an organism, or from individuals to a population, the complex interactions between singular elements can give rise to “emergent” properties at the ensemble level. To what extent can the spatial and temporal order seen at the system level be explained by subscale properties?

During this previous course, most seminars were filmed. Discover videos here.

Organizers: M. Coppey, M. Dahan, H. Isambert, P. Martin, P. Nghe, P. Sens, P. Silberzan, A. Walczak

Systems biology approaches help to analyse molecular mechanisms in silico. Despite availability of cancer high-throughput (omics) and imaging data, they are not fully exploited to provide the clue on deregulated mechanisms that would guide to better patient’s stratification and to specific treatment in cancer and beyond.
We invited leading international speakers from different fields in cancer systems biology that will expose an umbrella of systems biology methods from data analysis to modelling and integration of rationalized treatment schemes into the clinical trials.

>>Click here to register for this course.<<

Genome instability is a hallmark of cancer cells but also a cause of genetic diseases in humans. Our understanding of the causal relationships between genome instability and the development of human diseases rely on our knowledge of the basic mechanisms of DNA and RNA metabolism, from the spatial genome organization to the chromatin landscape up to the regulation of genome expression during development or in response to genotoxic stress.

The dysfunctions of these basic mechanisms related to genome metabolism underlie human diseases including cancer, aging, neurological disorders and immune deficiency.

Organization:

  • Seminars by experts in the field of the mechanisms that maintain genome stability to large scale approaches (molecular signature using NGS and proteomic). Highlight how a research continuum, from basic research to clinical and translational research, provides opportunities to solve human health issues.
  • Workshops: Carrier development, Scientific communication, Technological workshop, Poster session, “Elevator Pitch”, Students will chair session
  • Poster prize
  • Curie Museum guided visit.


Organizers: Aura Carreira, Chunlong Chen, Valérie Borde, Sarah Lambert

This course is jointly organized by the Institut Curie and the Institut Pasteur in collaboration with ISAC, the International Society for the Advancement of Cytometry, AFC (Association Française de Cytométrie), and Ciphe (Centre d’immunophénomique), Marseille. The workshop will cover basic and advanced cytometry topics and will consist of lectures and practical modules taught by international experts in the field.  

The multicolor track will have a strong focus on advanced panel design and high dimensional data analysis.

To register, click here.

Faculty: P.Chattopadhyay, J.Irish, H.Luche, Y.Saeys, B.Telford, P.Wallace, G.Osborne, D.Hedley, S.Chow, A.Krishan, P.Jain, M.Scheimann, Z.Porat.

Organizers: Z.Maciorowski, Institut Curie, S.Novault & M.Hasan, Institut Pasteur, A.Krishan, University of Miami, USA, T.Kalina, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic, H.Luche, Ciphe, Marseilles.

This career Development workshop is a unique opportunity for participants, PhD students and young postdocs, to discuss their career objectives with speakers who, after earning a PhD in biology, chose various career paths leading them away from the bench (education, industry, science communication and management, etc…). The workshop is organized in short round-tables, where participants and invited speakers will exchange in an informal way.

Each participant should have the opportunity to discuss with at least 7 speakers.

The course will run from Wednesday afternoon to Wednesday evening of the following week. Each day there will be a different topic and 4-5 lectures from local researches (one 1h long lecture) and foreigner speakers (2 lectures). In the evening, during dinner the students will present their research in the format of 10 minutes chalk talk using a white board and only one Powerpoint slide. There will be also 3 sessions with short talks (10 minutes talk plus 5 minutes questions) from selected abstracts (opened to all researchers in Paris area). To motivate students to interact with speakers, we will assign each speaker to 2 students. Students will be expected to read recent papers from the speaker’s lab, to introduce the speaker, chair questions after his/her talk, and to serve as a guide/host for the speaker during the course.

Courses will be taught in English. While the whole course will be open to everyone, the students’ presentations will be restricted to selected students.

Organizers: Stéphanie Miserey-Lenkei, Guillaume Montagnac, Danijela Vignjevic

This course will explore the versatility of non-coding RNAs, a diverse and prevailing class of transcripts that engage in numerous biological processes across every branch of life in all living organisms from bacteria to humans. Word-famous researches will expose their very last discoveries in identification and biogenesis to functional roles of non-coding RNAs in physiology and human disease. It will provide an opportunity to young students and research fellows to discuss their work with an international scientific community in a warm and stimulating environment of Institut Curie.

The success of the course relies on an active participation of the trainees in discussions and exchange with invited speakers, the poster presentation of their own scientific projects, Journal Clubs by reviewing and presenting key articles in the field chosen by the speakers.

Organizers: D. Bourc'his, E. Heard, A. Londono, A. Morillon, M. Pinskaya, A. Shkumatava, F. Toledo

The aim of this course is to provide an overview of epigenetic mechanisms and their link to chromatin dynamics. The different functions of the nucleus involving the genome and its organization will be discussed with an emphasis on technological limits and the new experimental approaches being developed today. Links between the disruption of nuclear functions and the development of human pathologies will be discussed.

The success of the course relies on the active contribution of participants who are expected to be proactive and to participate in all of the events organized including:
i) presentation of their own scientific project with a poster
ii) participation in the Journal Club to both present and review key articles proposed by the speakers,
iii) participation to the "career development" workshop during the Saturday morning and the "epi-Courses" such as the “Art & Science” workshop.

A special session will be devoted to 2 or 3 alumni who have gone on to successful careers in the field of Epigenetics. Everything is in English.

Organizers: Geneviève Almouzni, Nathalie Dostatni

This course in English will immerse students and researchers in an intense collaborative work, stimulating creative thinking for the development of an “out-of-the-box” project. This will be a full week of hard work and fruitful discussion with peers that will encourage the participants to question their pre-established ideas about cell biology.
Eight researchers from France and eight researchers from Chile will be intensely committed to train and guide the students, encouraging them to think in an interdisciplinary and ambitious way. We seek to foster a friendly and collaborative environment that will not only provide top-level training for students, but also promote mutual learning and networking opportunities for all participants.

Organizers: Ana-Maria Lennon and Claire Hivroz (Institut Curie, France), Carolina Torrealba and Betsi Flores (Fundación Ciencia & Vida, Chile)

In humans, pigment cells comprise the neural crest-derived melanocytes and the pigmented retina cells. Tumor transformation in both cell types results in cutaneous or uveal melanomas, two usually aggressive and hard-to-treat tumour types. 

This course will address the development, the differentiation and the migratory behaviour of melanocytes in embryos and melanoma formation and metastasis in adults. Focus will be made on cellular and molecular mechanisms controlling these processes. The course will then address how advanced imaging technologies, systems biology, and in vivo approaches have progressed in melanoma understanding in the last few years. Finally, some directions for therapeutic approaches will be developped. 

In the practical part of this course, the notions developped in the seminars and courses will be illustrated by in vivo manipulations in embryos and in vitro cellular manipulation, both followed by advanced imaging analysis. An opening will be made on other cancers that have similarities with melanoma as medulloblastoma and glioblastoma.

Cours internationaux et pluridisciplinaires

Systems biology approaches help to analyse molecular mechanisms in silico. Despite availability of cancer high-throughput (omics) and imaging data, they are not fully exploited to provide the clue on deregulated mechanisms that would guide to better patient’s stratification and to specific treatment in cancer and beyond.

We invited leading international speakers from different fields in cancer systems biology that will expose an umbrella of systems biology methods from data analysis to modelling and integration of rationalized treatment schemes into the clinical trials. 

The course will contain the following sessions:

Session 1: Pathway databases and networks resources in cancer
Session 2: Visualisation and interpretation of cancer data
Session 3: Cancer genomics
Session 4: Multi-level omics data analysis and tumour heterogeneity 
Session 5: Mathematical modelling of signalling networks in cancer
Session 6: integration of multi-level data into models of cancer signalling
Session 7: Treatment response prediction and patient stratification
Session 8: Single cell data analysis in cancer
Session 9: Bioimage informatics for cancer research 
Session 10: Cancer evolution studies

The success of the course relies on the active contribution of participants who are expected to participate in the following events:

-Presentation of their own scientific project with a flash presentation and a poster
-Participation in the Journal Club to present and discuss milestone papers in the cancer systems biology field
-Participation in the "career development" workshop during the Saturday morning session.

CRC Taylor&Francis Publishing Group sponsored student’s prizes for best presentations and posters. 

Organizers: E.BARILLOT, G.BATT, I.KUPERSTEIN, V.SOUMELIS, D.THIEFFRY, J-P.VERT, T.WALTER 

Ce cours est organisé conjointement par l’Institut Curie et l’institut Pasteur en collaboration avec l’ISAC (International Society for the Advancement of Cytometry) AFC, (Association Française de Cytométrie) et le Ciphe (Centre d’immunophénomique), Marseille. Il sera composé de présentations théoriques et d’ateliers pratiques animés par des experts internationaux et portera sur les fondamentaux et sur la Cytométrie avancée.

Un focus particulier sera donné au design des panels et à l’analyse multidimensionnelle.

Pour s'inscrire, cliquez ici.

Intervenants :

P.Chattopadhyay, J.Irish, H.Luche, Y.Saeys, B.Telford, P.Wallace, G.Osborne, D.Hedley, S.Chow, A.Krishan, P.Jain, M.Scheimann, Z.Porat.

Organisateurs : Z.Maciorowski, Institut Curie, S.Novault & M.Hasan, Institut Pasteur, A.Krishan, University of Miami, USA, T.Kalina, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic, H.Luche, Ciphe, Marseilles.

L’instabilité génétique est une caractéristique des cellules cancéreuses mais aussi une cause de maladies génétiques chez l’homme. Notre appréhension des relations causales entre instabilité génétique et le développement de pathologies humaines repose sur nos connaissances des mécanismes fondamentaux du métabolisme de l’ADN et de l’ARN, depuis l’organisation spatial et chromatinien des génomes, leur expression et régulation au cours du développement ou en réponse à des stress environnementaux.

La dérégulation de ces mécanismes fondamentaux liés au métabolisme des génomes peut être à l’origine de pathologies humaines, incluant le cancer, le vieillissement, des maladies neurologiques et des déficits immunitaires.

Organisation :

  • Des séminaires donnés par des orateurs spécialistes du domaine couvrant les mécanismes fondamentaux qui gouvernent la stabilité des génomes, aux approches grandes échelles (signatures moléculaires, protéomique, NGS) et les pathologies associées. Il s’agit de valoriser comment un continuum de recherche, allant de la recherche fondamentale à la recherche clinique et translationnelle, permet de répondre à des questions de santé humaine.
  • Des ateliers : Développement de carrière,  Communication scientifique, Workshop technologique, Session poster, « Elevator Pitch », Présentation et modération des orateurs par les participants.
  • Prix Poster
  • Visite du musée Curie.


Organisateurs : Aura Carreira, Chunlong Chen, Valérie Borde, Sarah Lambert

L’atelier de développement de carrière est une opportunité unique offerte aux doctorants et aux jeunes postdocs, pour parler de leurs objectifs de carrières avec des conférenciers qui après avoir obtenu un doctorat en biologie ont choisi différentes directions (éducation, industrie, science de la communication et du management, etc..). Cet atelier est organisé en forme de micro session en table ronde, où les participants et les conférenciers invités pourront échanger de manière informelle.

Chaque participant devrait avoir l’occasion de discuter avec au moins 7 conférenciers.

Le cours se déroulera du mercredi après-midi au mercredi soir de la semaine suivante. Chaque jour, une thématique différente sera abordée grâce à 4-5 conférences de chercheurs locaux (1h) et de chercheurs étrangers (2h).

Le soir pendant le dîner les étudiants présenteront leur recherche sous forme d'une présentation sur tableau et une diapositive Powerpoint. Il y aura trois sessions de présentations orales courtes (10 min+ 5 min questions) sélectionnées sur résumé (ouvert à tous les chercheurs dans les environs de Paris).

Pour motiver les étudiants à interagir avec les conférenciers, 2 étudiants seront assignés à chaque conférencier. Les étudiants devront lire les papiers récents venant du laboratoire du conférencier, être chair des questions de son séminaire et lui servir de guide pendant le cours.

Les cours sont en anglais et ouverts à tout le monde. La session de présentation des étudiants est restreinte aux étudiants sélectionnés.

Organisateurs : Stéphanie Miserey-Lenkei, Guillaume Montagnac, Danijela Vignjevic

Ce cours a pour objectif de montrer la complexité de la transcription chez les eucaryotes et chez les bactéries produisant, en plus des ARN codants les protéines, un vaste nombre de transcrits non codants (ARNnc). Les intervenants décriront la biogenèse des différents types d’ARNnc, ainsi que leurs implications dans les mécanismes de régulation de l’expression des gènes et dans la stabilité des génomes. Les thèmes abordés couvrent aussi bien les petits ARN non codants régulateurs (miRNA, siRNA et piRNA) que les grands ARNnc, plus récemment décrits, et leurs rôles dans le développement, la différenciation cellulaire et les maladies humaines.

Le succès du cours repose sur la contribution active des participants aux discussions avec les intervenants, à la présentation de leurs propres projets scientifiques sous forme d’affiche et à la présentation des thématiques et d’articles clés dans le domaine proposés par les intervenants.

Organisateurs : D. Bourc'his, E. Heard, A. Londono, A. Morillon, M. Pinskaya, A. Shkumatava, F. Toledo

Les objectifs de ce cours sont de fournir un aperçu des mécanismes épigénétiques et de leurs liens avec la chromatine. Les différentes fonctions du noyau impliquant le génome et son organisation seront discutées en insistant sur les limites technologiques et les nouvelles approches expérimentales développées. Les liens entre la perte des fonctions du noyau et le développement de pathologies humaines seront présentés.

Le succès de ce cours repose sur une forte contribution des participants qui doivent assister de façon très proactive à l'ensemble des événements organisés. Cela implique notamment :
i) la présentation de leur propre projet scientifique sous forme de poster,
ii) la participation au Journal Club pour présenter et réaliser une analyse critique d’articles clés dans le domaine de l'épigénétique et proposés par les intervenants,
iii) la participation à l'atelier « Développement de Carrière » du samedi matin et aux « epi-Courses » tel que l'atelier « Art & Sciences ».

Une session spéciale sera dédiée à l'invitation de 2 ou 3 alumni qui ont eu une expérience réussie dans le domaine de l'épigénétique. Tout est en anglais.

Organisatrices : Geneviève Almouzni, Nathalie Dostatni

Ce cours va plonger les étudiants et les chercheurs dans un travail collaboratif intense, stimulant la pensée créative pour le développement d'un projet "out-of-the-box". Ce sera une semaine complète de travail acharné et de discussions fructueuses avec des pairs qui encourageront les participants à remettre en question leurs idées préétablies sur la biologie cellulaire.

Huit chercheurs de la France et huit chercheurs du Chili seront intensément engagés à former et guider les étudiants, en les encourageant à penser de manière interdisciplinaire et ambitieuse. Nous cherchons à favoriser un environnement amical et collaboratif qui offrira non seulement une formation de haut niveau pour les étudiants, mais aussi la promotion de l'apprentissage mutuel et des possibilités de réseautage pour tous les participants.

Le cours est dispensé en anglais.

Organisateurs : Ana-Maria Lennon et Claire Hivroz (Institut Curie, France), Carolina Torrealba et Betsi Flores (Fundación Ciencia & Vida, Chili)

Les cellules pigmentées humaines comprennent les mélanocytes dérivés de la crête neurale et les cellules de la rétine pigmentaire. La transformation tumorale de ces deux types cellulaires cause les mélanomes cutanés et uvéaux, deux tumeurs très agressives et difficiles à traiter. 

Ce cours abordera le développement, la migration et la différenciation des mélanocytes dans l’embryon ainsi que la transformation tumorale en mélanome et la formation de métastases chez l’adulte. Les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires de ces processus seront développés. Le cours abordera également les approches actuelles d’imagerie avancée, de biologie des systèmes, et les approches in vivo qui ont permis de mieux comprendre les mélanomes dans les dernières années. Enfin, des orientations pour les approches thérapeutiques seront exposées. 

Le cours pratique illustrera les notions abordées dans le cours, notamment par des manipulations in vivo chez l’embryon et des analyses cellulaires in vitro, suivies d’analyses par imagerie avancée. Une ouverture sera faite sur d’autres cancers qui présentent des similitudes avec le mélanome comme le médulloblastome et le glioblastome.

L'évènement se déroule sur une après-midi et est composé de deux ateliers successifs animé par Marion Guerth qui vous aideront à définir votre plan de carrière dans différents domaines et découvrir comment améliorer votre candidature à un poste.