International multidisciplinary courses

The aim of this course (theory and practice) of 4 weeks is to attract an international group of students (Master students and young PhD students) to this research area by bringing together leading scientists for a series of state-of the-art lectures and cutting edge practical sessions. The practical course provides training in cell culture of transfected and infected cells, in vitro reconstitution of cellular functions, gene inactivation, and introduces students to cutting edge techniques of live imaging. Every week a specific theme is tackled and talks and experiments alternate.

Course description on Institut Pasteur's site
Registration on Institut Pasteur's site
Organizers: Roberto Bruzzone, Philippe Chavrier, Chiara Zurzolo

Institut Curie and Université Pierre et Marie Curie organize their 6th International Developmental Biology course in collaboration with the Stowers Institute for Medical sciences of Kansas City from September 21 to October 23, 2015.

Practicals: September 21 - October 9, 2015 (3 weeks)
Lectures: October 12 - 23, 2015 (2 weeks)

Organizers: Allison Bardin, Yohanns Bellaïche, Claire Fournier-Thibault, Jean-René Huynh, Muriel Umbhauer

Major advances in basic research of melanoma have led to novel treatment options that are making a difference for melanoma patients. However, multiple challenges lie ahead and further progress is necessary, particularly with respect to resistance to the novel therapies. For advancing knowledge in the area and to ensure that future scientists are updated with respect to current knowledge in the field, we will host a course which teaches the basic biology and develoment of the melanocyte how these cells are transformed into melanoma, and how the disease is diagnosed and treated. A particular emphasis will be on novel therapeutic options and the resistance that arises against the new drugs.

The course is divided into two sessions, both will be held at the University of Iceland, in Reykjavik.
. 1st session: course (June 21-23) - register on Institut Curie website
. 2nd session: meeting (June 24-26) - register on the following website: www.melanoma2015.is

The general objective of this course is to understand the role of the cytoskeleton in intracellular trafficking and cell migration at different levels: molecular, cellular and in the living organism. The course will provide introductions to the main cytoskeleton networks as well as to the basic mechanisms of trafficking and migration regulation. It will cover general mechanisms though which intracellular trafficking controls cell migration and invasion with a more particular focus on the role of cytoskeleton-based organelles in these basic cellular functions. Lecturers and participants will be both physicists and biologists. Conferences will be in English. Each day will include four-five one hour lectures plus participant presentations.

In humans, pigment cells comprise the neural crest-derived melanocytes and the pigmented retina cells. Tumor transformation in both cell types results in cutaneous or uveal melanomas, two usually aggressive and hard-to-treat tumour types. This course will address the development, the differentiation and the migratory behaviour of melanocytes in embryos and melanoma formation and metastasis in adults. Focus will be made on cellular and molecular mechanisms controlling these processes. The course will then address how advanced imaging technologies, systems biology, and in vivo approaches have progressed in melanoma understanding in the last few years. Finally, some directions for therapeutic approaches will be developped.
In the practical part of this course, the notions developped in the seminars and courses will be illustrated by in vivo manipulations in embryos and in vitro cellular manipulation, both followed by advanced imaging analysis.

Organizers: A-H. Monsoro-Burq, S. Saule, P. Pla, C. Borday, M. Locker, F. Coquelle

The aim of this course is to provide an overview of post-transcriptional gene regulations at multiple steps, including notably (pre-)messenger RNA splicing, polyadenylation, stability and translation. This course will particularly address 3 aspects: underlying molecular mechanisms, genome-wide analyses of post-transcriptional regulatory networks and the involvement in cancer, with a special session entitled “RNA towards the clinic”.
 

One of the major goals of this course is to give an overview of potential impact of the non coding part of the genome during the cell life. This covers not only regulatory non-coding RNAs, but also unknown ncRNAs such as those emerging from repetitive sequences, both playing a crucial role in the expression and maintenance of the genomes.The course will describe the biogenesis pathways of different ncRNAs, as well as the mechanisms of gene regulation and genome defence implicating these RNAs. It will cover recent achievements in ncRNA detection, emerging findings of novel ncRNA species in the context of development, cellular differentiation and human diseases.

Organizers: D. Bourc'his, E. Heard, A. Londono, A. Morillon, M. Pinskaya, A. Shkumatava,  F. Toledo

The aim of this course (theory and practice) of 4 weeks is to attract an international group of students (Master students and young PhD students) to this research area by bringing together leading scientists for a series of state-of the-art lectures and cutting edge practical sessions. The practical course provides training in cell culture of transfected and infected cells, in vitro reconstitution of cellular functions, gene inactivation, and introduces students to cutting edge techniques of live imaging. Every week a specific theme is tackled and talks and experiments alternate.

Course description and programme on the website of the Institut Pasteur's site.
Organizers: Roberto Bruzzone, Philippe Chavrier, Chiara Zurzolo

During the first week, we will review the molecular consequences of low dose and dose rate exposures to ionising radiation from the generation of oxidative stress and damage at the macromolecular level to long term consequences such as  increased cancer risk, with the over-arching theme of individual susceptibility. How mechanistic knowledge can be integrated into molecular epidemiological studies and used to assess individual variation in susceptibility will be presented. In the second week students will participate in laboratory sessions on DNA/RNA extraction and genotyping techniques, the quantification of DNA and protein adducts, DNA repair activity and cell senescence using Fluorescent Activated Cell Sorting (FACS) and immunofluorescence.

Organizers : Janet Hall, Sylvie Chevillard and François Leteurtre

For more information and registration
: click here or contact organizers at: studentsdoremi2014@curie.fr 

The aim of this course is to provide an overview of epigenetic mechanisms and their link to chromatin dynamics. The different functions of the nucleus involving the genome and its organization will be discussed with an emphasis on technological limits and the new experimental approaches being developed today. Links between the disruption of nuclear functions and the development of human pathologies will be discussed.

The success of the course relies on the active contribution of participants who are expected to be proactive and to participate in all of the events organized including:
i) presentation of their own scientific project with a poster
ii) participation in the Journal Club to both present and review key articles proposed by the speakers,
iii) participation to the "career development" workshop during the Saturday morning and the "epi-Courses" such as the “Art & Science” workshop.

A special session will be devoted to 3 alumni students who have gone on to successful careers in the field of Epigenetics.

Organizers: Geneviève Almouzni, Nathalie Dostatni

Cours internationaux et pluridisciplinaires

Ce cours intensif, théorique et expérimental d'une durée de 4 semaines a pour but d'attirer un groupe international d'étudiants (masters et jeunes doctorants) vers la biologie cellulaire en les regroupant autour d'experts reconnus dans ces différentes disciplines.

Description du cours sur le site de l'Institut Pasteur
Inscription sur le site de l'Institut Pasteur

Organisateurs : Roberto Bruzzone, Philippe Chavrier, Chiara Zurzolo

L’Institut Curie et l’Université Pierre et Marie Curie organisent le 6e cours international de Biologie du Développement en collaboration avec le Stowers Institute for Medical Sciences (Kansas City) du 21 septembre au 23 octobre 2015.

Ateliers :  21 septembre - 9 octobre, 2015 (3 semaines)
Séminaires : 12 - 23 octobre, 2015 (2 semaines)

Organisateurs : Allison Bardin, Yohanns Bellaïche, Claire Fournier-Thibault, Jean-René Huynh, Muriel Umbhauer

Des avancées majeures en recherche fondamentale sur le mélanome ont permis de découvrir de nouvelles options thérapeutiques bénéfiques pour les patients atteints de mélanome. Cependant, nous sommes face à de multiples défis prévisibles dont la résistance associée à ces thérapies. Pour transmettre la connaissance intégrative dans le domaine aux jeunes scientifiques et médecins dans ce champ d’investigation, nous organisons un cours qui abordera la biologie fondamentale et du développement embryonnaire du mélanocyte, les mécanismes de transformation de ces cellules en mélanome, le diagnostic, le pronostic et les différentes thérapies. Un accent particulier sera mis sur les nouvelles options thérapeutiques et les résistances provoquées par ces nouveaux médicaments.

Le cours est composé de deux sessions, toutes les deux ont lieu à l'université de Reykjavik.
. 1ère session : cours (21-23 juin) - s'inscrire sur le site de l'Institut Curie
. 2è session : meeting (24-26 juin) - s'inscrire sur ce site : www.melanoma2015.is

L’objectif général de ce cours vise à comprendre le rôle du cytosquelette dans le trafic intracellulaire et la migration cellulaire à différents niveaux : moléculaire, cellulaire ainsi que dans l’organisme vivant. Le cours proposera une introduction aux principaux types de cytosquelette ainsi qu’aux mécanismes fondamentaux régulant le trafic intracellulaire et la migration. Le cours couvrira les mécanismes généraux par lesquels le transport intracellulaire contrôle la migration et l’invasion cellulaire en abordant notamment le rôle des organelles riches en cytosquelette dans ces fonctions. Les intervenants ainsi que les étudiants seront aussi bien des biologistes que des physiciens. Les conférences seront données en anglais à raison de quatre à cinq par jour. Les étudiants devront également donner un bref exposé de leurs travaux.

Les cellules pigmentées humaines comprennent les mélanocytes dérivés de la crête neurale et les cellules de la rétine pigmentaire. La transformation tumorale de ces deux types cellulaires cause les mélanomes cutanés et uvéaux, deux tumeurs très aggressives et difficiles à traiter. Ce cours abordera le développement, la migration et la différenciation des mélanocytes dans l’embryon ainsi que la transformation tumorale en mélanome et la formation de métastases chez l’adulte. Les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires de ces processus seront développés. Le cours abordera également les approches actuelles d’imagerie avancée, de biologie des systèmes, et les approches in vivo qui ont permis de mieux comprendre les mélanomes dans les dernières années. Enfin, des orientations pour les approches thérapeutiques seront exposées.
Le cours pratique illustrera les notions abordées dans le cours, notamment par des manipulations in vivo chez l’embryon et des analyses cellulaires in vitro, suivies d’analyses par imagerie avancée.

Organisateurs: A-H. Monsoro-Burq, S. Saule, P. Pla, C. Borday, M. Locker, F. Coquelle

Le but de ce cours est de fournir un aperçu global des régulations post-transcriptionnelles de l’expression des gènes à différentes étapes, incluant notamment l’épissage, la polyadénylation, la stabilité et la traduction des ARN (pré-)messagers. Ce cours couvrira plus particulièrement 3 aspects : les mécanismes moléculaires sous-jacents, les analyses pan-génomiques des réseaux de régulations post-transcriptionnelles et les implications en cancérologie avec une session spéciale intitulée “l’ARN vers la clinique”.
 

Ce cours a pour objectif de montrer la complexité de la transcription chez les eucaryotes et chez les bactéries produisant, en plus des ARN codants les protéines, un vaste nombre de transcrits non codants (ARNnc). Les intervenants décriront la biogenèse des différents types d’ARNnc, ainsi que leurs implications dans les mécanismes de régulation de l’expression des gènes et dans la stabilité des génomes. Les thèmes abordés couvrent aussi bien les petits ARN non codants régulateurs (miRNA, siRNA et piRNA) que les grands ARNnc, plus récemment décrits, et leurs rôles dans le développement, la différenciation cellulaire et les maladies humaines.

Organisateurs : D. Bourc'his, E. Heard, A. Londono, A. Morillon, M. Pinskaya, A. Shkumatava,  F. Toledo

Ce cours intensif, théorique et expérimental d'une durée de 4 semaines a pour but d'attirer un groupe international d'étudiants (masters et jeunes doctorants) vers la biologie cellulaire en les regroupant autour d'experts reconnus dans ces différentes disciplines.

Descriptif du cours également sur le site de l'Institut Pasteur ainsi que le programme complet.

Inscription sur le site de l'Institut Pasteur
Organisateurs : Roberto Bruzzone, Philippe Chavrier, Chiara Zurzolo

La première semaine traitera des conséquences moléculaires d’une exposition aux radiations ionisantes à faibles doses, depuis le stress oxydant et les lésions macromoléculaires immédiates jusqu’aux effets à long terme, tels que le développement de cancer, en tenant compte de la susceptibilité individuelle. Comment les connaissances sur les mécanismes moléculaires peuvent être prises en compte pour les études épidémiologiques et pour mieux estimer la variabilité inter-individuelles de radiosensibilité sera présenté. La seconde semaine est consacrée à des travaux pratiques en laboratoire : extraction d’ADN, d’ARN et de génotypage, mesure de l’activité de réparation de l’ADN et d’analyse des adduits formés sur l’ADN et les protéines par différentes techniques dont la cytométrie en flux et l’immunofluorescence.

Organisateurs : Janet Hall, Sylvie Chevillard and François Leteurtre


Pour davantage d'informations et inscription
: cliquer ici ou contacter les organisateurs à l'adresse suivante : studentsdoremi2014@curie.fr

Les objectifs de ce cours sont de fournir un aperçu des mécanismes épigénétiques et de leurs liens avec la chromatine. Les différentes fonctions du noyau impliquant le génome et son organisation seront discutées en insistant sur les limites technologiques et les nouvelles approches expérimentales développées. Les liens entre la perte des fonctions du noyau et le développement de pathologies humaines seront présentés.

Le succès de ce cours repose sur une forte contribution des participants qui doivent assister de façon très proactive à l'ensemble des événements organisés. Cela implique notamment :
i) la présentation de leur propre projet scientifique sous forme de poster,
ii) la participation au Journal Club pour présenter et réaliser une analyse critique d’articles clés dans le domaine de l'épigénétique et proposés par les intervenants,
iii) la participation à l'atelier « Développement de Carrière » du samedi matin et aux « epi-Courses » tel que l'atelier « Art & Sciences ».

Une session spéciale sera dédiée à l'invitation de 3 étudiants alumni qui ont eu une expérience réussie dans le domaine de l'épigénétique.

Organisatrices : Geneviève Almouzni, Nathalie Dostatni