International multidisciplinary courses

The aim of this course (theory and practice) of 4 weeks is to attract an international group of students (Master students and young PhD students) to this research area by bringing together leading scientists for a series of state-of the-art lectures and cutting edge practical sessions. The practical course provides training in cell culture of transfected and infected cells, in vitro reconstitution of cellular functions, gene inactivation, and introduces students to cutting edge techniques of live imaging. Every week a specific theme is tackled and talks and experiments alternate.

Course description and programme on the website of the Institut Pasteur's site.
Organizers: Roberto Bruzzone, Philippe Chavrier, Chiara Zurzolo

During the first week, we will review the molecular consequences of low dose and dose rate exposures to ionising radiation from the generation of oxidative stress and damage at the macromolecular level to long term consequences such as  increased cancer risk, with the over-arching theme of individual susceptibility. How mechanistic knowledge can be integrated into molecular epidemiological studies and used to assess individual variation in susceptibility will be presented. In the second week students will participate in laboratory sessions on DNA/RNA extraction and genotyping techniques, the quantification of DNA and protein adducts, DNA repair activity and cell senescence using Fluorescent Activated Cell Sorting (FACS) and immunofluorescence.

Organizers : Janet Hall, Sylvie Chevillard and François Leteurtre

For more information and registration
: click here or contact organizers at: studentsdoremi2014@curie.fr 

The aim of this course is to provide an overview of epigenetic mechanisms and their link to chromatin dynamics. The different functions of the nucleus involving the genome and its organization will be discussed with an emphasis on technological limits and the new experimental approaches being developed today. Links between the disruption of nuclear functions and the development of human pathologies will be discussed.

The success of the course relies on the active contribution of participants who are expected to be proactive and to participate in all of the events organized including:
i) presentation of their own scientific project with a poster
ii) participation in the Journal Club to both present and review key articles proposed by the speakers,
iii) participation to the "career development" workshop during the Saturday morning and the "epi-Courses" such as the “Art & Science” workshop.

A special session will be devoted to 3 alumni students who have gone on to successful careers in the field of Epigenetics.

Organizers: Geneviève Almouzni, Nathalie Dostatni

One of the fundamental issues in biology is the understanding of the relationship between the multiple spatial and temporal scales observed in a biological system. From molecules to a cellular function, from a collection of cells to an organism, or from individuals to a population, the complex interactions between singular elements can give rise to “emergent” properties at the ensemble level. To what extent can the spatial and temporal order seen at the system level be explained by subscale properties?

Organizers: M. Coppey, M. Dahan, H. Isambert, P. Martin, P. Silberzan, A. Walczak

Institut Curie and Université Pierre et Marie Curie organize their 5th International Developmental Biology course in collaboration with the Regenerative and Developmental Biology programme of Harvard University and the Stowers Institute for Medical sciences of Kansas City from September 22 to October 24, 2014.
Practicals: September 22 - October 10, 2014 (3 weeks)
Lectures: October 13 - 24, 2014 (2 weeks)

Organizers: Allison Bardin, Yohanns Bellaïche, Claire Fournier-Thibault, Jean-René Huynh, Muriel Umbhauer

The 6th European Course of in vivo Preclinical Assays in Cancer Therapy is an extensive training program designed to educate and update the biomedical research community on current trends and technological advances in in vivo preclinical assays in cancer.
The emphasis of this course will be on the use of genetically engineered mouse models and patient-derived xenograft (PDX) models for in vivo preclinical research.
The course will cover the following topics: in vitro preclinical assays employing established tumor cell lines and functional genomics approaches, preclinical imaging, angiogenesis and metastasis, Zebrafish model, therapy resistance models and approaches, ethics and co-clinical trials.

Organizers: Virginie Dangles-Marie, Elisabetta Marangoni, Jos Jonkers (NKI), Sven Rottenberg (NKI)

Registration (form and steps below)

The general objective of this course is to understand the role of the cytoskeleton in cell interaction with the microenvironment at different levels: molecular, cellular and in the living organism. The course will provide introductions to the main cytoskeleton networks as well as to the physical and biochemical properties of extracellular matrices. It will cover general mechanisms of cell interaction with the matrix, migration and invasion in relevant microenvironment with a more particular focus on the role of cytoskeleton-based organelles in these basic cellular functions.

Organizers: Danijela Vignjevic and Guillaume Montagnac

Key to the proper inheritance of the genetic information, cells should duplicate their genome before mitosis and avoid mutagenesis.

The course will describe the mechanisms and the regulation that ensures the maintenance of genetic information across cell generations. An emphasis will be put on:

initiation and completion of replication along the bulk chromosomes and at specific regions such as the telomeres and fragile sites; the pathways of DNA repair and recombination; the relationships linking replication stress to the formation of DNA damage; the signalling events surrounding intrinsic and environmentally induced DNA damage; the interference with transcriptional activity; the variety of cellular responses to damage including the generation of chromosome rearrangements and oncogenesis.

A large set of experimental methods involving genetic, molecular, cellular, and biochemical approaches will be taught.

Organizers : Alain Nicolas, Franck Toledo, Michelle Debatisse, Arturo Londono-Vallejo

Registration: click here

Cell biology applied to different biological systems: Cell migration and mechanics, cytoskeleton dynamics, epigenetics, ER dynamics, Golgi structure and function, immune synapse, long RNAs in development biology, membrane trafficking, mitochondrial function, neurobiology, UPR and ER stress.

Organizers: Ana-Maria Lennon, Claire Hivroz, Patricia Burgos, Gonzalo Mardones (Chile)


One of the major goals of this course is to give an overview of potential impact of the non coding part of the genome during the cell life. This covers not only regulatory non-coding RNAs, but also unknown ncRNAs such as those emerging from repetitive sequences, both playing a crucial role in the expression and maintenance of the genomes.The course will describe the biogenesis pathways of different ncRNAs, as well as the mechanisms of gene regulation and genome defence implicating these RNAs. It will cover recent achievements in ncRNA detection, emerging findings of novel ncRNA species in the context of development, cellular differentiation and human diseases.

Organizers: Déborah Bourc'his, Edith Heard, Arturo Londono, Antonin Morillon, Marina Pinskaya, Alena Shkumatava, Franck Toledo.

Cours internationaux et pluridisciplinaires

Ce cours a pour objectif de montrer la complexité de la transcription chez les eucaryotes et chez les bactéries produisant, en plus des ARN codants les protéines, un vaste nombre de transcrits non codants (ARNnc). Les intervenants décriront la biogenèse des différents types d’ARNnc, ainsi que leurs implications dans les mécanismes de régulation de l’expression des gènes et dans la stabilité des génomes. Les thèmes abordés couvrent aussi bien les petits ARN non codants régulateurs (miRNA, siRNA et piRNA) que les grands ARNnc, plus récemment décrits, et leurs rôles dans le développement, la différenciation cellulaire et les maladies humaines.

Organisateurs : D. Bourc'his, E. Heard, A. Londono, A. Morillon, M. Pinskaya, A. Shkumatava,  F. Toledo

Ce cours intensif, théorique et expérimental d'une durée de 4 semaines a pour but d'attirer un groupe international d'étudiants (masters et jeunes doctorants) vers la biologie cellulaire en les regroupant autour d'experts reconnus dans ces différentes disciplines.

Descriptif du cours également sur le site de l'Institut Pasteur ainsi que le programme complet.

Inscription sur le site de l'Institut Pasteur
Organisateurs : Roberto Bruzzone, Philippe Chavrier, Chiara Zurzolo

La première semaine traitera des conséquences moléculaires d’une exposition aux radiations ionisantes à faibles doses, depuis le stress oxydant et les lésions macromoléculaires immédiates jusqu’aux effets à long terme, tels que le développement de cancer, en tenant compte de la susceptibilité individuelle. Comment les connaissances sur les mécanismes moléculaires peuvent être prises en compte pour les études épidémiologiques et pour mieux estimer la variabilité inter-individuelles de radiosensibilité sera présenté. La seconde semaine est consacrée à des travaux pratiques en laboratoire : extraction d’ADN, d’ARN et de génotypage, mesure de l’activité de réparation de l’ADN et d’analyse des adduits formés sur l’ADN et les protéines par différentes techniques dont la cytométrie en flux et l’immunofluorescence.

Organisateurs : Janet Hall, Sylvie Chevillard and François Leteurtre


Pour davantage d'informations et inscription
: cliquer ici ou contacter les organisateurs à l'adresse suivante : studentsdoremi2014@curie.fr

Les objectifs de ce cours sont de fournir un aperçu des mécanismes épigénétiques et de leurs liens avec la chromatine. Les différentes fonctions du noyau impliquant le génome et son organisation seront discutées en insistant sur les limites technologiques et les nouvelles approches expérimentales développées. Les liens entre la perte des fonctions du noyau et le développement de pathologies humaines seront présentés.

Le succès de ce cours repose sur une forte contribution des participants qui doivent assister de façon très proactive à l'ensemble des événements organisés. Cela implique notamment :
i) la présentation de leur propre projet scientifique sous forme de poster,
ii) la participation au Journal Club pour présenter et réaliser une analyse critique d’articles clés dans le domaine de l'épigénétique et proposés par les intervenants,
iii) la participation à l'atelier « Développement de Carrière » du samedi matin et aux « epi-Courses » tel que l'atelier « Art & Sciences ».

Une session spéciale sera dédiée à l'invitation de 3 étudiants alumni qui ont eu une expérience réussie dans le domaine de l'épigénétique.

Organisatrices : Geneviève Almouzni, Nathalie Dostatni

Un des problèmes fondamentaux en biologie concerne la relation qui existe entre les différentes échelles temporelles et spatiales dont dépend le fonctionnement de nombreux systèmes biologiques. De la molécule à la cellule, d’un amas cellulaire à un organisme, des interactions complexes entre constituants élémentaires donnent naissance à des propriétés « émergentes » pour le système pris dans son ensemble. Peut-on comprendre le comportement d’un système complexe biologique à partir des propriétés des éléments qui le constituent ?

Organisateurs: M. Coppey, M. Dahan, H. Isambert, P. Martin, P. Silberzan, A. Walczak

L’Institut Curie et l’Université Pierre et Marie Curie organisent le 5e cours international de Biologie du Développement en collaboration avec le département de Biologie Régénérative et du Développement de l’Université d’Harvard et le Stowers Institute for Medical Sciences (Kansas City) du 22 septembre au 24 octobre 2014.
Ateliers :  22 septembre - 10 octobre, 2014 (3 semaines)
Séminaires : 13 - 24 octobre, 2014 (2 semaines)

Organisateurs : Allison Bardin, Yohanns Bellaïche, Claire Fournier-Thibault, Jean-René Huynh, Muriel Umbhauer

Le 6e Cours Européen d’Essais Précliniques in vivo en Cancérologie est un programme intensif dont le but est la synthèse et la mise à jour des avancées technologiques et scientifiques dans les essais précliniques in vivo en cancérologie.
Ce cours s’intéresse particulièrement aux modèles animaux de cancer que sont les xénogreffes tumorales et les souris génétiquement modifiées dans le contexte spécifiques des essais d’agents anticancéreux. Seront également abordés les essais basés sur les lignées cellulaires et les approches de génomique fonctionnelle, l’imagerie préclinique, l’angiogenése, les métastases, le modèle des Zebrafish, les modèles de résistance aux thérapies, l’éthique et les interrelations avec les essais cliniques.

Organisateurs: Virginie Dangles-Marie, Elisabetta Marangoni, Jos Jonkers (NKI), Sven Rottenberg (NKI)

Inscription (formulaire et démarches ci-dessous)

L’objectif général de ce cours vise à comprendre le rôle du cytosquelette au cours des interactions entre cellules et microenvironnement à différents niveaux : moléculaire, cellulaire ainsi que dans l’organisme vivant.
Le cours proposera une introduction aux principaux types de cytosquelette ainsi qu’aux propriétés physiques et biochimiques de la matrice extracellulaire. Le cours couvrira les mécanismes généraux des interactions cellules-matrice ainsi que de la migration et l’invasion cellulaire dans des microenvironnements physiologiques en abordant notamment le rôle des organelles riche en cytosquelette dans ces fonctions. Les intervenants ainsi que les étudiants seront aussi bien des biologistes que des physiciens.

Organisateurs : Danijela Vignjevic et Guillaume Montagnac

La fidélité du processus de réplication du génome et les mécanismes d’évitement de la mutagénèse assurent la  transmission fidèle de l’information génétique des cellules.

Ce cours a pour objectif de décrire les mécanismes et régulations assurant le maintien de l’information des génomes ainsi que les causes et les conséquences des dérèglements. Il portera principalement sur :

l’initiation et la terminaison de la réplication sur l’ensemble du chromosome et dans des régions spécifiques comme les télomères et les sites fragiles ; les voies de réparation et de recombinaison ; les relations liant les stress réplicatifs et la formation des dommages de l’ADN ; la signalisation des dommages d’origine interne ou environnementale ; l’interférence avec l’activité  transcriptionnelle ; la variété des réponses cellulaires à la présence de dommages ; l'émergence des réarrangements chromosomiques et son implication dans l’oncogénèse.

L’enseignement s’attachera aussi à la présentation de la panoplie des méthodes expérimentales faisant appel aux approches génétiques, moléculaires, cellulaires et biochimiques.

Organisateurs : Alain Nicolas, Franck Toledo, Michelle Debatisse, Arturo Londono-Vallejo

Inscription : cliquer ici

Biologie cellulaire appliquée à différents systèmes biologiques : Cell migration and mechanics, cytoskeleton dynamics, epigenetics, ER dynamics, Golgi structure and function, immune synapse, long RNAs in development biology, membrane trafficking, mitochondrial function, neurobiology, UPR and ER stress

Organisateurs : Ana-Maria Lennon, Claire Hivroz, Patricia Burgos, Gonzalo Mardones (Chili)