International multidisciplinary courses

The aim of this course is to provide an overview of the epigenetic mechanisms and their link to chromatin dynamics. The different functions of the nucleus involving the genome and its organization will be discussed with an emphasis on technological limits and recently developed experimental approaches. Links between defects in nuclear function and organization and their impact on the development of human pathologies will also be discussed.

The success of the course relies on an active participation of the trainees which are expected to engage in all of the organized events in a highly proactive way. This includes i) the poster presentation of their own scientific project, ii) the active participation to the Journal Club by reviewing and presenting key articles in the field chosen by the speakers), iii) the participation to the brunch on carrier development (Saturday morning) and to the epi-Courses such as the “Art & Science” workshop.

Organizers: Geneviève Almouzni, Nathalie Dostatni

One of the major goals of this course is to give an overview of potential impact of the non coding part of the genome during the cell life. This covers not only regulatory non-coding RNAs, but also unknown ncRNAs such as those emerging from repetitive sequences, both playing a crucial role in the expression and maintenance of the genomes.The course will describe the biogenesis pathways of different ncRNAs, as well as the mechanisms of gene regulation and genome defence implicating these RNAs. It will cover recent achievements in ncRNA detection, emerging findings of novel ncRNA species in the context of development, cellular differentiation and human diseases.
This course is validated by UPMC - Paris VI University - 3ECTS or equivalent of 35 hours

Organizers: Déborah Bourc'his, Edith Heard, Marta Kwapisz, Arturo Londono, Antonin Morillon, Marina Pinskaya, Franck Toledo

The Institut Curie and UPMC organize their 3rd International Developmental Biology course in collaboration with the Regenerative and Developmental Biology programme of Harvard University from September 24 to October 26 2012.
Practicals: September 24 - October 12, 2012 (3 weeks)
Lectures: October 15 - 26, 2012 (2 weeks)

Organizers: Claire Fournier-Thibault, Muriel Umbhauer, Yohanns Bellaïche, Jean-René Huynh

For the fifth year, the  European  course  of  ‘in  vivo  Preclinical  Assays  in  Cancer  Therapy’ is  jointly organized with the NKI in Amsterdam. The Symposium on Preclinical Assays in Cancer Therapy is an extensive training program designed to educate and update the biomedical research community on current  trends  and  technological  advances  in vivo  preclinical  assays  in  cancer. 

Organizers: Sven Rottenberg (NKI), Jos Jonkers (NKI), Elisabetta Marangoni (Institut Curie), Virginie Dangles-Marie (Institut Curie)

Cell biology applied to different biological systems: Immunology, Host-Pathogen Interactions, cytoskeletal remodeling, phagocytosis and autophagy, mitotic spindle formation.

Organizers: Ana-Maria Lennon, Claire Hivroz, Ariel Savina, Matias Ostrowski (Argentine)

One of the major goals of this course is to give an overview of potential impact of the non coding part of the genome during the cell life. This covers not only regulatory non-coding RNAs, but also unknown ncRNAs such as those emerging from repetitive sequences, both playing a crucial role in the expression and maintenance of the genomes.The course will describe the biogenesis pathways of different ncRNAs, as well as the mechanisms of gene regulation and genome defence implicating these RNAs. It will cover recent achievements in ncRNA detection, emerging findings of novel ncRNA species in the context of development, cellular differentiation and human diseases.

Organizers: Déborah Bourc’his, Edith Heard, Marta Kwapisz, Arturo Londono, Antonin Morillon, Marina Pinskaya, FranckToledo

Uveal melanoma course with ophthalmological aspects including diagnosis, differential diagnosis and local treatments. The course will include recent biological advances and a review of the possible oncological treatments.

Organizers: Laurence Desjardins, Sophie Piperno-Neumann, Jérôme Couturier, Sarah Coupland

The general objective of this course is to understand the role of the cytoskeleton in cell migration and invasion at different levels: molecular, cellular and in the living organism. The course will cover general mechanism of cell migration in 2D and 3D substrates; different modes of migration such as single and collective cell migration; and it will provide the examples of normal cell migration during tissue morphogenesis and invasion migration of cancer cells.
Lecturers and participants will be both physicists and biologists. Conferences will be in English. Each day will include five one hour lectures plus participant presentations.

Organizers: Guillaume Montagnac, Danijela Vignjevic

Key to the proper inheritance of the genetic information, cells should duplicate their genome before mitosis and avoid mutagenesis. The course will describe the mechanisms and the regulations that ensure the maintenance of genetic information across cell generations. Focus will be put on initiation and completion of replication along the bulk chromosomes and at specific regions such as the telomeres ; the pathways of DNA repair and recombination ; the relationships linking replication stress to the formation of DNA damages ; the signalling of intrinsic and environmentally induced DNA damages ; the interferences with the transcriptional activity ; the variety of cellular responses to damages including the generation of chromosome rearrangements and oncogenesis. A large set of experimental methods involving genetic, molecular, cellular, biochemical approaches will be taught.

Organizers: Michelle Debatisse, Franck Toledo, Alain Nicolas

This course will address the development, the differentiation and the migratory behaviour of melanocytes in embryos and melanoma formation and metastasis in adults. Focus will be made on cellular and molecular mechanisms controlling these processes. The course will then address how advanced imaging technologies, systems biology, and in vivo approaches have progressed in melanoma understanding in the last few years. Finally, some directions for therapeutic approaches will be developped. In the practical part of this course, the notions developped in the seminars and courses will be illustrated by in vivo manipulations in embryos and in vitro cellular manipulation, both followed by advanced imaging analysis.

Organizers: Anne-Hélène Monsoro-Burq, Patrick Pla, Simon Saule, Morgane Locker, Odile Bronchain

Cours internationaux et pluridisciplinaires

L'objectif de ce cours est de documenter à l’aide d’exemples de régulations épigénétiques les liens possibles avec l’organisation de la chromatine pour discuter des mécanismes en jeu. Les différentes fonctions du génome dans le noyau seront abordés pour mettre en lumière son organisation en insistant sur les limites technologiques et les nouvelles approches expérimentales développées. Les relations entre des défauts dans les fonctions et l’organisation du noyau dans le contexte de pathologies humaines seront présentées.

Le succès du cours repose sur une contribution active des participants et leur engagement à  participer à l’ensemble des évènements organisés. Ils auront ainsi à s’investir dans trois volets principaux  i) la présentation de leur propre projet scientifique sous forme d’affiche, ii) une analyse critique d’articles clés dans le domaine (proposés par les intervenants) qu’ils auront à présenter , iii) la participation au Brunch « Développement de carrière » (samedi matin) et aux « epi-Cours » tel que « Art & Sciences ».

Organisatrices : Geneviève Almouzni, Nathalie Dostatni

Ce cours a pour objectif de montrer la complexité de la transcription chez les eucaryotes produisant, en plus des ARN codants les protéines, un vaste nombre de transcrits non codants (ARNnc). Les intervenants décriront la biogenèse des différents types d’ARNnc, ainsi que leurs implications dans les mécanismes de régulation de l’expression des gènes et dans la stabilité des génomes.Les thèmes abordés couvrent aussi bien les petits ARN non codants régulateurs (miRNA, siRNA et piRNA) que les grands ARNnc, plus récemment décrits, et leurs rôles dans le développement, la différenciation cellulaire et les maladies humaines.
Ce cours est labellisé par l'UPMC - Université Paris VI - 3ECTS ou équivalent 35 heures

Organisateurs : Déborah Bourc'his, Edith Heard, Marta Kwapisz, Arturo Londono, Antonin Morillon, Marina Pinskaya, Franck Toledo

L’Institut Curie et l’UPMC organisent le 3è cours international de Biologie du Développement en collaboration avec le département de Biologie Régénérative et du Développement de l’Université d’Harvard du 24 septembre au 26 octobre 2012.
Ateliers:  24 septembre - 12 octobre, 2012 (3 semaines)
Séminaires: 15 - 26 octobre, 2012 (2 semaines)
Organisateurs: Claire Fournier-Thibault, Muriel Umbhauer, Yohanns Bellaïche, Jean-René Huynh

Pour sa 5e année, le Cours Européen sur les Essais précliniques in vivo en cancérologie est organisé conjointement avec le NKI à Amsterdam. Le Symposium sur les Essais précliniques in vivo en cancérologie est ainsi un programme intensif dont le but est la synthèse et la mise à jour des avancées technologiques et scientifiques dans les essais précliniques in vivo en cancérologie.

Organisateurs : Sven Rottenberg (NKI), Jos Jonkers (NKI), Elisabetta Marangoni (Institut Curie), Virginie Dangles-Marie (Institut Curie)

Biologie cellulaire appliquée à différents systèmes biologiques : immunologie, interactions hôtes pathogènes, remodelage du cytosquelette, phagocytose et autophagie, formation du fuseau mitotique.
Organisateurs: Ana-Maria Lennon, Claire Hivroz, Ariel Savina, Matias Ostrowski (Argentine)

Ce cours a pour objectif de montrer la complexité de la transcription chez les eucaryotes produisant, en plus des ARN codants les protéines, un vaste nombre de transcrits non codants (ARNnc). Les intervenants décriront la biogenèse des différents types d’ARNnc, ainsi que leurs implications dans les mécanismes de régulation de l’expression des gènes et dans la stabilité des génomes. Les thèmes abordés couvrent aussi bien les petits ARN non codants régulateurs (miRNA, siRNA et piRNA) que les grands ARNnc, plus récemment décrits, et leurs rôles dans le développement, la différenciation cellulaire et les maladies humaines.
Organisateurs : Déborah Bourc’his, Edith Heard, Marta Kwapisz, Arturo Londono, Antonin Morillon, Marina Pinskaya, Franck Toledo

Cours sur le Mélanome uvéal comportant les aspects ophtalmologiques avec le diagnostic différentiel et la prise en charge, les données biologiques récentes et la prise en charge oncologique.

Organisateurs : Laurence Desjardins, Sophie Piperno-Neumann, Jérôme Couturier, Sarah Coupland

L’objectif de ce cours est de comprendre le rôle du cytosquelette dans la migration et l’invasion cellulaire à différents niveaux: moléculaire, cellulaire ainsi que dans l’organisme vivant. Le cours portera sur des aspects généraux de la migration sur des substrats 2D et 3D; les différents modes de migration ; le cours couvrira également la migration normale des cellules au cours de l’homéostasie, ou pathologique ou cours des cancers.
Les intervenants ainsi que les étudiants seront aussi bien des biologistes que des physiciens. Les conférences seront données en anglais à raison de cinq par jour. Les étudiants devront également donner un bref exposé de leurs travaux, également en anglais.
Organisateurs : Guillaume Montagnac, Danijela Vignjevic

La fidélité du processus de réplication du génome et les mécanismes d’évitement de la mutagénèse assurent la  transmission fidèle de l’information génétique des cellules.  Ce cours a pour objectif de décrire les mécanismes et régulations assurant le maintien de l’information des génomes ainsi que les causes et les conséquences des dérèglements. Il portera principalement sur l’initiation et la terminaison de la réplication sur l’ensemble du chromosome et dans des régions spécifiques comme les télomères ; les voies de réparation et de recombinaison ; les relations liant les stress réplicatifs et la formation des dommages de l’ADN ; la signalisation des dommages d’origine interne ou environnementale ;  l’interférence avec l’activité  transcriptionnelle ; la variété des réponses cellulaires à la présence de dommages ; l’émergence des réarrangements chromosomiques et son implication dans l’oncogénèse. L’enseignement s’attachera aussi à la présentation de la panoplie des méthodes expérimentales faisant appel aux approches génétiques, moléculaires, cellulaires et biochimiques.
Organisateurs: Michelle Debatisse, Franck Toledo, Alain Nicolas.

Ce cours abordera le développement, la migration et la différenciation des mélanocytes dans l’embryon ainsi que la transformation tumorale en mélanome et la formation de métastases chez l’adulte. Les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires de ces processus seront développés. Le cours abordera également les approches actuelles d’imagerie avancée, de biologie des systèmes, et les approches in vivo qui ont permis de mieux comprendre les mélanomes dans les dernières années. Enfin, des orientations pour les approches thérapeutiques seront exposées. Le cours pratique illustrera les notions abordées dans le cours, notamment par des manipulations in vivo chez l’embryon et des analyses cellulaires in vitro, suivies d’analyses par imagerie avancée.
Organisateurs : Anne-Hélène Monsoro-Burq, Patrick Pla, Simon Saule, Morgane Locker, Odile Bronchain